The Soul in the Machine

June 29, 2013 at 12:17 pm 1 comment

The Soul in the Machine was a popular book decades ago. Those words come back to me the last few weeks as I look at Margie. Just a few months ago she was alert and responding to what I said and did. Now is the time I have dreaded for years: little recognition and response.

As I look at her and say and do things that used to cause responses from her, that book title keeps coming to mind. Not that Margie is in any sense a machine but rather her heart and soul apparently disappearing within. And yet as I look at her, maybe she is becoming a machine of minimal actions to keep barely alive – breathing and heart at work.

Entry filed under: communicating, dementia, slow-fade, soulmate.

Going, going Relationships and personality changes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Barbara W.  |  July 1, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Unless we have walked in your shoes, we dare not comment, John. However, I do pray that you’re able to hang onto your deep understanding that Margaret is more than body, breath, or brain. We may not recognize our loved ones as they change, but hope tells us that God is within, even now, comforting her in ways we cannot know. And, I pray, comforting you.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed