The origin of our family password

December 8, 2013 at 12:53 am Leave a comment

Our son and I were reminiscing about Margie, and I shared with him how useful our family password was for her recognizing me. That word was ‘peedypie’, and I told him that I thought we had started using it because he had used it when he was learning to talk, then we used it as a family recognition word. He and I talked about that for a while when he said, “I think I said that when I was trying to say ‘please’ or maybe ‘pretty please’ but couldn’t quite say it, and it came out ‘peedypie’.”

Later as I remembered that conversation I remembered that Margie wanted our son to say please every time he asked for something. One of the children’s books she bought was The Magic Word, which, of course, was please.

Is the mystery solved? We used ‘peedypie’ for many decades as our family greeting, and it caused recognition during dementia.

Entry filed under: communicating, dementia, Family.

Ambiguous Loss book helps What shall I do months after her death?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



