What shall I do months after her death?

February 20, 2014 at 3:21 pm Leave a comment

In the months since my beloved Margie died, I reflect on our love – the intertwining of her love for me and mine for her – as I explore dating ladies. I remember her saying to me several times, “If anything happens to me, I want you to marry again.”

As I think about my loss of Margie, I am grateful for the insights in Bass’s Ambiguous Loss and her insights into the unique grieving of caregivers for Dementia and Alzheimer afflicted loved ones.

In thinking of her love and our love, I found this in the Hebrew Scriptures Canticles or Song of Songs chapter 8:

Set me as a seal upon your heart,

   as a seal upon your arm;

for love is strong as death,

   passion fierce as the grave.

Its flashes are flashes of fire,

   a raging flame.

Many waters cannot quench love,

   neither can floods drown it.

If one offered for love

all the wealth of one’s house,

it would be utterly scorned.

As a popular song of our youth said, “Love is a many splendored thing.”

Margie was a wonderful soul mate and colleague, and do I honor her memory and presence by finding another lover who may become soul mate and colleague? Is this being faithful and loving? I must listen to both my mind and even more to my heart! What is the “far better way” for me of 1 Corinthians 13?

Entry filed under: dementia, self-care, soulmate.

The origin of our family password

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



